Summer Cyprus Reading List

My summer will be broken in half this year with the first five weeks in Cyprus and the second part of the summer in beautiful Grand Forks.  So it makes sense to break my summer reading list in half as well.

I’ll admit that I am somewhat embarrassed by some of my goof-off reading. I’m still trying to figure out if cyber-punk goes beyond William Gibson. I managed half of Neal Stevenson’s Diamond Age or A Young Ladies Illustrated Primer (1995). I also brought along Bruce Sterling’s Distraction (1998).  I also found a copy of George Effinger’s When Gravity Fails (1987) figuring it never hurt to have some Orientalism in my cyberpunk.

To prove that I haven’t given up completely, I also plan to read A. Bonnier’s dissertation: Harbours and Hinterlands: Landscape, Site Patterns, and Coast-Hinterland Interconnections by the Corinthian Gulf c. 600-300 B.C. (2010). I’ll also work my way through the most recent volume of the International Journal of Historical Archaeology which is called Going Places: The Archaeology of Travel and Tourism (2011).

Mostly, I plan to read drafts of chapters for the Pyla-Koutsopetria Archaeological Project monograph that is now well underway. And of course, I’ll be reading the Polis Notebooks and trying to make sense to the complex remains of a church at the site called EF2.

5 Comments

  1. I think you should add Jennifer Egan’s “A Visit from the Goon Squad” on your list. I’ll be doing the same. Punk Archaeology reading for the summer.

    Reply

  2. Kostis,

    That was on my summer reading list LAST summer. You’re so 2010!

    Bill

    Reply

  3. […] One of my annual rites of late spring is to pull together my summer reading list for both travel to and from The Europe and long summer evenings on the front porch. For the past few years, I’ve poked around the edges of the cyberpunk genre and wrapped up some reading important to my teaching and research. Here’s 2013 and 2011. […]

    Reply

  4. […] You can check out my past reading lists here: 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, and 2011.  […]

    Reply

Leave a comment