More on Slow Archaeology

Over the past 12 months, I’ve put together three papers on slow archaeology that a more ambitious and organized scholar could envision on a nice article. Instead (or, more optimistically, in advance of that work), I’ll put them together here in one glorious blog post for your consideration.

The first paper was given around this time last year at the University of Massachusetts. This paper mainly focused on archaeology as craft and the role that technology has played in deskilling certain aspects of archaeological practice through the application of Taylorist principles. 

It’s titled “Practice and Method in Creating 3D Models in Archaeology.”

The next version of the paper took on a more popular tone and reflected a return to some basic scholarship in archaeology and developed the slow angle more specifically. This paper was published in North Dakota Quarterly earlier this year. For an earlier and I think more substantial draft of this article click here.

Finally, I have finished a draft of my paper that I’ll deliver over the weekend in Boston at the Mobilizing the Past for a Digital Future. The final program is available here, and it looks like a fantastic event. It’ll be live streamed starting Friday afternoon here. It’s going to be particularly tricky to both attend a plenary talk and a dinner while watching the Australia v. New Zealand World Cup Cricket Match. It is possible that Steven Ellis and I will come down with some kind of strange 8-hour flu. 

If you’re more of a reader than a watcher-of-live-streamer (or have other cricket-related issues) then you can enjoy my paper below. This is the most mature version of my slow archaeology paper, and I think that the three papers not only demonstrate my effort to wrap my head around the effects of digital practice on our discipline, but also a kind of critical and productive luddism. Again, in the hands of a more able scholar, I think these three papers would make a lovely article:

Leave a Reply

