The Final Figure for Pyla-Koutsopetria Survey Volume

Lately I’ve been talking with friends and colleagues about the feeling that I’m wasting my sabbatical. Despite all sorts of reassurances, I feel the days slipping away. Recently, I’ve spent entire days writing grants, editing page proofs, making travel plans, having meetings, filling out Doodle polls to schedule meetings, organizing speakers, writing emails, deciding whether to italicize words in a title, conjuring press releases, and, most recently, finishing up figures for the Pyla-Koutsopetria Archaeological Project 1 manuscript.

These are not creative tasks. 

In fact, these small tasks can completely suck the energy out of a work day, a work week, or, if I’m not careful, an entire sabbatical. 

That being said, I did finish the final figure for the PKAP manuscript (now that it’s up in Amazon and all). This is important stuff. I need always to color between the lines.

Before:

Figure5 2

After:

Figure5 2FIXED

The more I try to roll on shabbos, the more I realize that gravity always wins.

2 Comments

  1. Protip: spend the first two hours of the day doing nothing but creative stuff that requires your undivided attention and actually produces new work. The rest of the day can then be dedicated to all the other stuff (including email, which should not be opened during your creative time), which can be done relatively guilt-free.

    Reply

  2. Andrew,

    Good tip, man. What about DOODLE POLLS.

    HOW MUCH TIME SHOULD I DEDICATE TO $#@&%ING DOODLE POLLS?

    And listening to OASIS. I’m listening to a lot of OASIS lately.

    Bill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

