Working Paper on Teaching History in a Scale-Up Classroom

As readers of this blog know, I’ve been working on a paper documenting and reflecting on teaching Western Civilization I in the University of North Dakota’s fancy-pants new Scale-Up classroom. My teaching assistant from the spring 2013 semester, Cody Stanley, is my coauthor.

This draft of the paper included some of the results of a survey conducted at the end of the course, a more substantial literature review, and a general tightening of our argument throughout. 

I think the article is good, but like everything I write, it is probably trying to do too many things all at once. On the other hand, I think – almost by default – we make some good observations on the changing landscape of college teaching in the humanities. 

Any and all feedback would be really appreciated! For more on my Scale-Up adventures, feel free to peruse my weekly teaching journal and various other blog posts on the topic.

Leave a Reply

