Something on the Ashes and Something on Audio

I almost overslept this morning after an almost four and a half hour Fargo-Moorhead Redhawks last night. I did managed to drag myself out of bed to watch the Ashes at Lords. After all, if the Queen herself could make it, then I could make it.

BoysofSummer

First, the Ashes.

Todays post will be influenced by the early hour and the need to keep one eye on the Ashes, but I wanted to opine on a situation from the first Ashes test. On the third day at Trent Bridge, Stuart Broad edged Ashton Agar to Brad Haddin. It wasn’t just a little niggling edge, it was a thick edge. The umpire missed it and Australia had used up their reviews so Broad’s innings with the bat continued. 

The commentators discussed at length whether Broad should have walked (that is, acknowledge that he was out even if the umpire got it wrong), and most felt like Broad did the right thing and the umpires were there to decide who was in and who was out and in this case they got it wrong. I’m not so sure about this reasoning. I would think that edging the ball – especially a thick edge like Broad’s – is one of the few times that the player was in a position to know whether he was out better than the umpire. Another such time is when a player makes (or misses) a catch. When Dinesh Ramdan faked a catch in the Champions Trophy earlier this summer and was caught on camera doing it, it received a substantial fine and a two match ban. While Broad’s sin was one of omission – he failed to tell the umpire that he had edged the ball – and Ramdan’s was a sin of commission – he blatantly faked a catch, the latter has to be the product of the same commentator logic. If the umpires are there to judge who is out and who is not, then one should do everything necessary to stay in or to convince the umpire that a player is out. If there is an “absolute” in or out that exists outside of the umpire’s decision, then Broad should have walked.

I can accept, of course, that sometimes a player genuinely does not know whether he’s edged the ball or not. For example, Michael Clarke on the fourth day edged the ball, but nevertheless called for a review when the umpire gave him out. While Clarke has taken some heat during the first test for his use of reviews (the so-called Decisions Review System), it seems unlikely that he’d call for a review if he knew he was out. Broad, in contrast, knew he edged the ball and should have walked. 

And some audio

As readers of this blog know, I’ve been dabbling with introducing some of my interest in music to this blog here (and here and here). I promise that I won’t begin telling you what I had for breakfast or about the antics of my cat. 

On the other hand, I was pretty pleased to have contributed to one of my favorite audiophile blogs this week: Confessions of a Parttime Audiophile. Everyone should click through to this site to read my post and to show the editor/publisher, Scot Hull, that I can bring page views to keep his sponsors happy. It’s been very interesting watching him develop the site from a single author blog to more of an online magazine. I’d pretty pleased to do my part, but hope that he can maintain the personal, practical, “lifestyle” tone of the blog even as it gets more contributors.

PTAudiophile

Leave a Reply

