A Working Paper on Teaching History in a Scale-Up Classroom

As most of you probably know, I’ve been teaching my 100-level history class in the University of North Dakota’s fancy Scale-Up classroom this semester. As part of that project, I made my teaching journal public here on the blog.

From those reflections, I’ve put together a working draft of an article that tries to briefly locate Scale-Up teaching in the larger context of teaching history at the university, outlines in a more systematic way my classroom techniques, and identifies certain key challenges that we faced teaching in this room. There’s a reflective conclusion that considers how shifting the educational paradigm from teaching-centered to student-centered embraces trends present in the development of online teaching and Late Capitalism. 

I’ve included some of my basic lesson plans as an appendix and paired them with my reflective blog posts from throughout the semester.

As always, I’m keen for conversation and feedback. 

Leave a Reply

