More Ambivalent Landscapes of Corinth

I have finally completed (well, almost) a pre-publication draft of an article based on my conference paper in October at the Corinth in Contrast conference in Austin.  For more on this paper and my struggle to understand the ambivalence in the 6th century AD Corinthian landscape check out the posts herehere, here, here, here, here, here, and here; you may also want to read this pre-publication article.)

The paper is about 50% longer than the conference paper (which you can read here, if you want). I have expanded my introduction and clarified how I used the term resistance in the paper.  Much of this content came after some good conversations and conscientious editing by one our Ph.D. students Elizabeth Mjelde who passed on some of James Scott’s work on peasant resistance and the fantastic E.P. Thompson article from Albion’s Fatal Tree. Thanks, Elizabeth!

I have also expanded, albeit in a rather speculative way, my discussion of the rise in monumental Christian architecture in the Corinthia.  My approach owes a good bit to Kim Bowes’ recent book (which I discuss in more detail here) and can perhaps be compared to the recent article by Rebecca Sweetman (JLA 2010) which I discuss here.

I know that there are still a few small issues with citations and the paper must contain some of my trademark typographical errors.  I hope to clean most of that up over the next day or so and upload a revised version by Friday or so.

Since I know some students from Tim Gregory’s Late Antiquity and Byzantium seminar are checking my blog from time to time, I encourage any comments that they might have to add to my paper.  As the links in my post today show, this was not an easy paper for me to write and I ended up thinking at the ragged edges of my evidence.

Leave a comment