Where I work

August 18, 2011 § 1 Comment

I really like the “Where Ideas Come From” feature over at The Atlantic’s technology blog. The posts mostly feature cutting edge software and application developers that swim around at the edge of most of our awareness (Bump, Thumbtack, some tech company called GE (where do they come up with these names?)).  The big

For the past few years, I’ve been thinking about how faculty space and how our love of offices, corridors, and personal lab spaces might work against efforts to foster collaboration on campus. My office is my sanctuary. It’s a place where I think and read and write (and blog).

MyOffice
for the gigapan of the space go here

While it has the space for collaboration, it doesn’t allow for anyone else’s personality. The chaotic clutter and crowded arrangement is my creative space.

§ One Response to Where I work

  • […] The new semester begins tonight at 5 pm (or something). This is my first semester with tenure which I officially received on August 15.  It felt a lot like my team winning the World Series (which I have experienced) or the Super Bowl.  I woke up the next day expecting things to be or feel different and then was disappointed when they were the same. My coffee tasted the same, the sky looked the same, my office did not become larger or smaller. […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Where I work at The Archaeology of the Mediterranean World.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers

